DVD Talk
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
International DVDs
Theatrical
Adult
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
XCritic.com
DVD Stalk
DVD Savant
High-Def Revolution
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum
Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

DVDTalk Info
Review Staff
About DVD Talk
Advertise
Newsletter Subscribe
Join DVD Talk Forum
DVD Talk Feeds


Special Offer

Search: For:
Reviews » DVD Video Reviews » WWE - Vengeance 2006
WWE - Vengeance 2006
World Wrestling Entertainment // Unrated // July 25, 2006
List Price: $24.95 [Buy now and save at Amazon]
Review by John Crichton | posted September 30, 2006 | E-mail the Author
Buy from Amazon.com
C O N T E N T
V I D E O
A U D I O
E X T R A S
R E P L A Y
A D V I C E
Recommended
E - M A I L
this review to a friend
P R I N T
Printer Friendly
This year's edition of Vengeance took place at the Charlotte Bobcats Arena in Charlotte, North Carolina on June 25, 2006. This was the first pay-per-view that took place after Vince decided to bring back ECW, so it features an ever-so-brief appearance by some of the company's "Extremists", as well as Cheech & Chong - I mean, Sabu and Rob Van Damn - along with their newest acquisition, Kurt Angle (who, as of this writing, just signed with TNA - go figure). Along with the appearance of ECW wrestlers, we're also treated to the first and only PPV appearance of "Imposter" Kane and, most importantly, the recently reformed DX's first PPV match in six years.

Here's the card:

  • ECW's Kurt Angle vs. Raw's Randy Orton - In addition to the shock of Kurt Angle leaving the WWE for ECW, we had to brace ourselves for the reappearance of Randy Orton. Fresh off a sixty day suspension, Orton provides his standard level of arrogance with adequate wrestling skills, while Kurt puts on a good show - one that's definitely worthy of the pretty substantial (and well-deserved) push he received once Vince decided to start up ECW again and Kurt "signed" with them. It's a damn shame he's no longer with the company.
  • Mr. McMahon in his office

  • Eugene vs. Umaga - Why, oh why are we subjected to matches like this? Sure there was a point where I actually did enjoy watching Eugene wrestle (back when he was involved with Regal), but this ultimately proves to be a squash match. And if squashing Eugene wasn't enough, they drag out "Hacksaw" Jim Duggan, Doink the Clown and Kamala! If this holy trinity gets squashed, Umaga must truly be unstoppable. Let the squashing commence!

  • Todd Grisham interviews Mick Foley

  • 2-Out-Of-3 Falls Match [Ric Flair vs. Mick Foley] - After referring to Foley as nothing but a "glorified stuntman", Flair challenges Mick to this match that has both men putting their bodies on the line (as they usually do). I have to admit that i'm not much of a Foley fan, but i'd watch anything Flair does. That said, this match was good, but not great.

  • Triple Threat Match For the Intercontinental Championship [Shelton Benjamin vs. Johnny Nitro vs. Carlito]- This was a great spot-filled match that saw Benjamin, Nitro and Carlito really play off each other. It's a shame that it only lasted a painfully short, but highly entertaining, twelve minutes.

  • Spirit Squad in Mr. McMahon's office

  • WWE Championship Match [ECW's Rob Van Dam vs. Edge] - Don't bother trying to figure the logic in having a WWE belt on an ECW wrestler - when all is said and done, there is none. Just sit back and enjoy this match between the high-flying Van Dam and the not-as-annoying-as-he-used-to-be Edge. Too bad it wasn't a TLC match.

  • ECW Extremists in the locker room - Yes! You read right - ECW Extremists!

  • Kane vs. "Impostor" Kane - Yet another in a long line of storylines that the WWE drags out, does their best effort to shovel it down the fan's throats, and when it flops (like 75% of WWE storylines seem to do nowadays), is quickly dropped and forgotten. Shelton Benjamin's mother, anyone?

  • Extreme Rule Lumberjack Match [Raw's John Cena vs. ECW's Sabu] - The homicidal, genocidal maniac makes his WWE PPV debut. From what i've read, Sabu was quite popular in ECW, and is comparable to Kurt Angle and Chris Benoit in terms of skill and respect. So who does the WWE choose as his first opponent? John Cena. I guess he must've pissed someone off in the front office.

  • 5-On-2 Non-title Handicap Match [Spirit Squad vs. D-Generation X] - In yet another improbable storyline, HHH and HBK who, after quite a few years of feuding, giving each other dirty looks and basically beating the shit out of each other, have decided to team up and reform DX. And, MAN does the audience eat it up. Wonder how long it'll last?

Unlike past WWE PPV's, the WWE has included a ton of extras showcasing DX's "return" to Raw. So many, in fact, that they've decided to include them on a bonus disc. Included are:

  • Eighteen Visions music video "Victim"

  • Melina confronts Mick Foley

  • Rick Flair interview [Raw 06/26/06]

  • Torrie Wilson WWE Magazine Cover Shoot

  • Raw's John Cena vs. ECW's Rob Van Dam [WWE Championship Match - Raw 06/26/06]

  • Spirit Squad vs. Triple H [Gauntlet Match - Raw 06/12/06]

  • Mr. McMahon receives gifts from DX [Raw 6/19/06]

  • Spirit Squad gets slimed [Raw 6/19/06]

  • DX vandalizes Mr. McMahon's office [Raw 6/19/06]

  • DX humiliates Coach [Raw 6/19/06]

  • DX Returns [Raw 6/19/06]

  • DX impersonates Mr. McMahon & Shane [Raw 6/26/06]

  • DX entrance video

Video: As is the standard for WWE PPVs, Vengeance's picture was colorful and vibrant. The decision to put the plethora of extras on a separate disc was a great one, as it frees up some space on the discs, which results in fewer compression issues due to pyro and graphic elements than previous PPV DVDs. It's presented in the WWE's standard full frame 1.33:1 ratio.

Audio: The Dolby Digital 5.1 sound was crystal clear and enveloped my living room while I was watching it. Viewers are also given the option of watching the disc in Spanish.

Conclusion: Even though there were two or three matches that I could care less about, and there was surprisingly no Diva matches or foolishness, this was an entertaining DVD. Even though I wasn't around for the original run of DX, I have to say that Shawn & Hunter's antics are amusing (for the most part) and will most definitely be one of the reasons you should check out this disc. I was surprised (and pleased) that the WWE segregated the extras to a separate disc and hope the trend continues. It also wouldn't hurt to include more relevant content from the weekly shows, either. This is a Recommended disc.

Popular Reviews
1. Fargo: Remastered Edition
2. Paranormal Activity: The Marked Ones
3. Criminal Minds: The Eighth Season
4. Little House on the Prairie - Season One & The Pilot Movie
5. King Kong Escapes
6. Star Trek: Enterprise - Season Four
7. Demons
8. Ride Along
9. Equus
10. Interior. Leather Bar.


Special Offers
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.
Special Offers
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Copyright 2014 DVDTalk.com All Rights Reserved. Legal Info, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use