DVD Talk
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
International DVDs
Theatrical
Adult
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
XCritic.com
DVD Stalk
DVD Savant
High-Def Revolution
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum
Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

DVDTalk Info
Review Staff
About DVD Talk
Advertise
Newsletter Subscribe
Join DVD Talk Forum
DVD Talk Feeds


Special Offer

Search: For:
Reviews » DVD Video Reviews » Kiss - Kissology, Vol. 3: 1992-2000
Kiss - Kissology, Vol. 3: 1992-2000
VH1 classic pictures // Unrated // December 18, 2007
List Price: $36.98 [Buy now and save at Amazon]
Review by Ian Jane | posted January 8, 2008 | E-mail the Author
Buy from Amazon.com
C O N T E N T
V I D E O
A U D I O
E X T R A S
R E P L A Y
A D V I C E
Highly Recommended
E - M A I L
this review to a friend
P R I N T
Printer Friendly
The Movie:

Hot on the heels of the first two volumes in the best selling Kissology series comes the third collection of vintage Kiss television appearances and live performances, this time around covering the Revenge tour and the reunion years between 1992 and 2000 over four jam packed DVDs.

Here's a look at what's on each of the four discs in the collection:

Disc 1:

The first disc starts off with a rock solid live performance from Detroit, where the band has always had a rabid following. The Revenge line up that we see here is very strong. They play with energy and professionalism and not one member misses a beat. While they do a fair share of vintage songs, the real reason to watch this show is to check out some of the cuts from the album they were promoting with this tour, as once the reunion starts we don't really see any of it and Revenge was indeed a solid record from start to finish. This show was recorded for the Alive III CD release as well.

The Palace Of Auburn Hills, Detroit MI, 11/27/92:
1. Creatures Of The Night
2. Deuce
3. I Just Wanna
4. Unholy
5. Parasite
6. Heaven's On Fire
7. Domino
8. Watchin' You
9. War Machine
10. Rock And Roll All Nite
11. Lick It Up
12. Take It Off
13. I Love It Loud
14. Detroit Rock City
15. God Gave Rock N Roll To You II
16. Love Gun
17. Star Spangled Banner

From there we move on to some interesting MTV Unplugged: Behind The Scenes 1995 footage. Once we're through with this, we move on to the legendary performance itself, presented for the first time in its complete form with all songs intact. This performance is not only well done but it also marks the first time that Gene and Paul would play with Ace and Peter in well over fifteen years, making it fairly important in the history of the band.

MTV Unplugged, Sony Studios New York City, 8/9/95:
1. Comin' Home
2. Plaster Caster
3. Goin' Blind
4. Do You Love Me
5. Domino
6. Got To Choose
7. Sure Know Something
8. A World Without Heroes
9. Hard Luck Woman
10. Rock Bottom
11. See You Tonight
12. I Still Love You
13. Every Time I Look At You
14. Heaven's On Fire
15. Spit
16. C'Mon And Love Me
17. God Of Thunder
18. 2000 Man
19. Beth
20. Nothin' To Lose
21. Rock And Roll All Nite

Disc 2:

With the reunion now underway thanks to the success of the Unplugged performance and a renewed sense of energy from the band, disc two finds the band back in Detroit to kick the tour off in grand style with a fantastic make up show spotlighting their classic seventies material.

Tiger Stadium, Detroit MI, 6/28/96:
1. Deuce
2. King Of The Night Time World
3. Do You Love Me
4. Calling Dr. Love
5. Cold Gin
6. Christine Sixteen
7. Love Gun
8. Shout It Out Loud
9. Watchin' You
10. Firehouse
11. Strutter
12. Shock Me
13. Rock Bottom
14. God Of Thunder
15. Let Me Go, Rock N Roll
16. 100,000 Years
17. Rock And Roll All Nite

Moving on, up next is the fun MTV VMA Awards performance where the band played at the Brooklyn Bridge in New York City in full make up to celebrate the MTV Video Music Awards gala.

MTV VMA Performance, Brooklyn Bridge, New York City, 9/4/96:
1. Rock And Roll All Nite
2. New York Groove
3. Deuce
4. Calling Dr. Love
5. Love Gun

Rounding out the second disc is the first part of a Psycho Circus tour show from Los Angeles. It's rather annoying to see the concert split into two parts over two discs but such is life!

Dodgers Stadium, Los Angeles, CA, 10/31/98 (Part One):
1. Psycho Circus
2. Shout It Out Loud
3. Let Me Go, Rock N Roll
4. Shock Me
5. Do You Love Me
6. Calling Dr. Love
7. Firehouse
8. Cold Gin
9. Nothin' To Lose
10. She
11. I Was Made For Lovin' You

Disc 3:

Disc Three starts off with the second part of the Dodgers Stadium show from 1998...

Dodgers Stadium, Los Angeles, CA, 10/31/98 (Part Two):
1. Into The Void
2. Love Gun
3. Within
4. 100,000 Years
5. King Of The Night Time World
6. God Of Thunder
7. Deuce
8. Detroit Rock City
9. Beth
10. Black Diamond
11. Rock And Roll All Nite

With Kiss back on top, it wasn't surprising to see a theatrical film attempt to cash in on the band's success and the nostalgia factor that the reunion tours were bringing to the forefront. Detroit Rock City was released to theaters in 1999 and to celebrate, the band played a short set at the film's premiere.

Detroit Rock City Premiere Party, Los Angeles, CA, 8/9/99:
1. Detroit Rock City
2. Shout It Out Loud
3. Cold Gin
4. Rock And Roll All Nite

A few years after the reunion tours had starting selling out auditoriums around the world, the inner turmoil that had split the original line up in the first place once again began to rear its ugly head. As such, the band decided to embark on a 'farewell tour' and presented here in its entirety is the last show from that tour. Again, it focuses on the seventies material (with only one track from Psycho Circus performed, but really, that's what the fans wanted anyway. The energy that made the earlier reunion footage on this disc so great isn't as strong here and its obvious that the band is starting to tire but having said that, this is still a solid performance and a fitting way to end this chapter of the Kissology series. This was originally broadcast as a pay per view event.

The Last Kiss - Continental Airlines Arena, East Rutherford, NJ, 6/27/00:
1. Detroit Rock City
2. Deuce
3. Shout It Out Loud
4. Firehouse
5. Heaven's On Fire
6. Let Me Go, Rock N Roll
7. Shock Me
8. Psycho Circus
9. God Of Thunder
10. 100,000 Years
11. Love Gun
12. Black Diamond
13. Beth
14. Rock And Roll All Nite

Disc 4:

Disc four only has a forty-three minute run time, making it by far the shortest disc in the set, but it's also probably the most historically significant disc in the entire line of Kissology DVDs. Why is that? Because it contains the legendary 1973 Coventry show in its entirety, completely re-mastered (it still looks rough but this is old footage!).

Coventry, Queens NY, 12/22/73:
1. Deuce
2. Cold Gin
3. Nothin' To Lose
4. Strutter
5. Firehouse
6. Let Me Know
7. 100,000 Years
8. Black Diamond
9. Let Me Go, Rock N Roll

This is the earliest known footage of Kiss ever shot, and it shows a young, hungry band who appear determined to really give the audience their all. Additionally, it features a live performance of Let Me Know, which isn't one that they bring out all that often.

The DVD

Video:

Not surprisingly, everything in this set is fullframe. Picture quality differs from one clip to the next and the newer material looks better than the older stuff does for the most part but by and large, things look good here (despite the fact that none of this material has been properly flagged for progressive scan playback). There aren't any problems with mpeg compression artifacts and while some print damage shows up from time to time, it's never overpowering. Some of the older footage, the Coventry footage more than anything else, is blurry and fuzzy looking but that's unfortunately got everything to do with the source material, not the transfers. That said, because the bulk of this material is more recent than what we've seen on past volumes, you can safely expect that the quality will be better - because it is. The newer material on this set is in better shape and much of it was captured under better conditions and with better equipment so it only stands to reason that it should be noticeably improved from what we've seen prior.

Sound:

The English language 5.1 Surround Sound remixes are English language only, no closed captions or subtitles are provided. Sound quality, like the video quality, varies from clip to clip but for the most part things sound pretty decent. There's a little bit of hiss on some of the footage but aside from that there's nothing to complain about.

Extras:

Aside from some nifty animated menus and chapter stops, the only real extra features on the DVDs themselves are, once again, a bunch of commentary tracks recorded by Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons (joined in appropriate spots by Thayer and Kulick) who are surprisingly honest and upfront about the majority of the material in this set. It's interesting to hear their thoughts on why parts of the reunion worked and why parts didn't as well as what it was like doing the Unplugged performance.

Inside the packaging is a booklet containing excerpts from the commentary tracks that Paul and Gene recorded for the DVDs, along with some interesting promotional and live photographs and credits for the disc.

Also worth noting is that there are three Easter Eggs hidden in the set, one on each of the first three DVDs. To access them, simply highlight the word 'Kissology' from the main menu screen. On disc one you'll find footage from the Carnival Of Souls recording sessions, on disc two you'll find a rehearsal clip from the Brooklyn Bridge performance and on disc three you'll find a clip from the Vancouver Millennium concert where, once the clock strikes midnight, the band does a full version of 2000 Man.

Now, depending on where you buy this set, you may or may not get one of the following bonus discs in your set:

Bonus Disc 1 (General Market):
Irvine Meadows, Irvine CA 6/15/96 - KROQ Weenie Roast
1. Deuce
2. Love Gun
3. Cold Gin
4. Calling Dr. Love
5. Firehouse
6. Shock Me
7. 100,000 Years
8. Detroit Rock City
9. Black Diamond
10. Rock And Roll All Nite

Bonus Disc 2 (Wal-Mart Exclusive): Madison Square Gardens, New York City, 1996 and Bonus Disc 3 (Best Buy Exclusive): Brazil 1994 were not included with the copy sent for review.

Final Thoughts:

Kissology Volume 3 continues with the high standards of quality set by the first two volumes in the series and it does an excellent job of documenting the band's later period and reunion years. All four discs are of decent quality but it's the content here that makes this a must own for Kiss fans. Highly recommended.

Ian lives in NYC with his wife where he writes for DVD Talk, runs Rock! Shock! Pop!. He likes NYC a lot, even if it is expensive and loud.

Popular Reviews
1. Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Turkey Day Collection
2. The Bubble aka Fantastic Invasion of Planet Earth (3-D)
3. Batman The Complete TV Series Limited Edition Blu-ray
4. Seven Wonders of the World
5. Drunk History Seasons 1 and 2
6. Daniel Boone - The Complete Series: The Fiftieth Anniversary
7. The Killer Elite (1975)
8. Sam Whiskey
9. Mister Ed: The Complete Series
10. Lord Of Illusions


Special Offers
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.
Special Offers
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Copyright 2014 DVDTalk.com All Rights Reserved. Legal Info, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use