DVD Talk
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
International DVDs
Theatrical
Adult
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
XCritic.com
DVD Stalk
DVD Savant
High-Def Revolution
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum
Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

DVDTalk Info
Review Staff
About DVD Talk
Advertise
Newsletter Subscribe
Join DVD Talk Forum
DVD Talk Feeds


Special Offer

Search: For:
Reviews » DVD Video Reviews » WWE - Triple H: the King Of Kings - There Is Only One
WWE - Triple H: the King Of Kings - There Is Only One
World Wrestling Entertainment // Unrated // March 25, 2008
List Price: $29.95 [Buy now and save at Amazon]
Review by John Crichton | posted March 26, 2008 | E-mail the Author
Buy from Amazon.com
C O N T E N T
V I D E O
A U D I O
E X T R A S
R E P L A Y
A D V I C E
Highly Recommended
E - M A I L
this review to a friend
P R I N T
Printer Friendly

Triple H: the King Of Kings - There Can Be Only One is the latest release showcasing one of the biggest stars working in the sports entertainment today. In his time with the WWF/E, Paul Michael Levesque (Triple H to me and you), has put on some great matches, some that were alright and some that flat out stunk. Okay, so that last one is the "Hog Pen" match included as an extra.

Surprisingly, Triple H: the King Of Kings - There Can Be Only One is only a 2-disc set. I say "surprisingly", because if recent WWE superstar collections were any indication, then this should've been a 3-disc set. I have no idea why there's only two, but I do know his fans will get close to six hours of matches spanning his 13 years with the WWE. 

Disc One [2h 57s]:

  • the King Of Kings

  • Getting Started - Interested in wrestling from the age of 5 or 6, HHH eventually hooks up with Killer Kowalski thanks to Ted Arcidi. During the first year he wrestles, he meets Pat Patterson, who offers him a development deal with the possibility of joining the WWF. Though it's what he wants, HHH tells him that he's not ready mentally or physically. As he continues to train at his gym, he meets someone from WCW and and spends a year there, until JJ Dillon calls to let him know that Vince is interested in signing him.

  • RAW May 22, 1995 [Hunter Hearst Helmsley vs. John Crystal] [3m 59s] - During his debut match for the WWF, a leaner, thinner Triple H wrestles John Crystal. Wanna have some fun during this short match? Take a drink every time McMahon or Lawler say "Hunter Hearst Helmsley". Actually...don't. You'll be drunk before the next chapter.

  • Pressure - It's All On You & the Workhorse Title - Hunter talks about the beginning of his career in the WWF and how nerve-racked he was wrestling against local guys. He credits Marc Mero as the guy he learned the most from and states how much of an honor it was to win the Intercontinental Championship. I also liked the slight dig at Hogan.

  • WWE Intercontinental Championship Match - RAW October 21, 1996 [Hunter Hearst Helmsley vs. Marc Mero] [10m 50s] - Along with assistance from Mr. Perfect, Hunter becomes the Intercontinental Champion after only a year in the company.

  • Chyna, Curtain Call & the Crown - During this nearly four minute chapter, Triple H talks about how he and Shawn wanted to put together a group and their first encounter with Chyna. He brings up the MSG incident and how, since he wasn't untouchable like Shawn (since he was champ), he ended up taking the brunt of the punishment. Near the end, he talks about becoming King Of the Ring and his refusal to wear the crown that Vince "really wanted" him to wear. How he gets out of it is pretty damn funny. Well, Mick might not have thought so...

  • King Of the Ring Final Match - King Of the Ring June 8, 1997 [Mankind vs. Hunter Hearst Helmsley] [25m 13s]

  • the Transformation - the Amplified Version - Hunter talks about trying to get more of his personality into his character and how DX allowed him to do that. Oh, and how they were constantly chided by Vince while doing their DX schtick on TV.

  • WWE European Championship Match - Wrestlemania XIV March 29, 1998 [Owen Hart vs. Triple H] [17m 55s] - During the preceding chapter, HHH states how he thinks Owen Hart "never even scratched the surface of how good he was". After watching this match, i'd have to agree with him.

  • Elevating the Game - Hunter talks about forming a "new" DX once Shawn leaves due to his injury. He also talks about how he elevated his game by cutting ties with DX on his way to an "Austin"-like level.

  • WWE Championship Match - RAW August 23, 1999 [Mankind vs. Triple H] [13m 15s]- Mick and HHH put on an entertaining match that sees appearances by the Rock, Shane O'Mac and Chyna.

  • Being At the Top - HHH talks about the honor of being chosen to be WWE Champion and how many matches he's had against Stone Cold.

  • No Holds Barred WWE Championship Match - No Mercy October 17, 1999 [Triple H vs. Stone Cold Steve Austin] [26m 33s] - This was a good match, but if you want to see some great HHH matches against Austin, you should pick up Stone Cold's recent collection.

  • McMahon - Helmsley Era [1:53:09-1:56:12] - Hunter talks about the genesis of his feud against Vince (which, by the way, was Chyna's idea). He also discusses the honor he felt at Mick choosing him as his opponent for his "retirement" match and how nervous he was shouldering the responsibilty of putting on a good match for Mick.

  • Career vs. WWE Title Hell In A Cell Match - No Way Out February 27, 2000 [Triple H vs. Cactus Jack] [31m 53s] - Any time you get Mick together with a steel cage and a 2X4 wrapped with barbed wire, you have the ingredients for a good match. During this match, from what I gathered  listening to JR, Mick wrestled HHH for a shot at WrestleMania, as well as the WWF Championship. There were a lot of good spots during this match, but for some reason, the piledriver on the announce table made me cringe the most.

  • Injury & Return - Triple H briefly talks about his time wrestling with Austin as the Two-Man Power Trip, which resulted in him tearing his quad during a tag match against Jericho and Benoit.

  • Royal Rumble January 20, 2002 [30-Man Royal Rumble Match] [26m 36s] - Immediately after returning from his quad injury, Hunter takes part in the 2002 Royal Rumble, entering at number 22 (which is, coincidentally, where this chapter starts).

Disc Two [2h 30s] :

  • the Return Of Shawn - HHH talks winning the Royal Rumble and reconciling with Shawn after their falling out.

  • 2 Out Of 3 Falls Match For the World Heavyweight Championship - Armageddon December 15, 2002 [Shawn Michaels vs. Triple H] [44m 20s] - One of Triple H's favorite matches, this one starts out as a "Street Fight", then turns into a steel cage match and finally ends as a ladder match. Oh yeah, it's also pretty damn entertaining.

  • the Rise Of Batista - HHH talks about Evolution and its purpose was in the WWE. He also points out that, after Batista defeated him at WrestleMania, he put him over for two straight months afterwards.

  • Hell In A Cell Match For the World Heavyweight Championship - Vengeance June 26, 2005 [Batista vs. Triple H] [34m 29s] - From my review of the Vengeance PPV: "For all the flack that HHH gets for being "Mr. Stephanie McMahon" and hogging up almost all the airtime on every single Raw, I gotta say - he does give it his all in pay-per-view matches. Multiple foreign objects are introduced, and blood is spilled in this entertaining match that is significant since it sets up a lengthy absence for HHH."

  • Wrestling My Idol - Triple H talks about taking some time off to let his neck heal a bit before coming back and entering a feud with his idol, Ric Flair.

  • Last Man Standing Match - Survivor Series November 27, 2005 [Ric Flair vs. Triple H] [32m 48s] - From my review of the Survivor Series PPV: "After I got over the initial shock that this match was so early on the card, I enjoyed watching Flair do what he does best - bleed. Unfortunately, it's nowhere near as good as their "Hell In A Cell" PPV match at the this year's Taboo Tuesday PPV."

  • the Next Generation - HHH shares his thoughts on John Cena and Edge.

  • Triple Threat Match For the WWE Championship - Backlash April 30, 2006 [John Cena vs. Triple H vs. Edge] [25m 57s] - From my review of the Backlash PPV: "Hate to say it, but I enjoyed this match. Well, "enjoyed" might be too strong an adjective, but I didn't skip it and I wasn't watching the clock on my DVD player while they were wrestling. I'm not sure if I said this before, but the only person that bleeds better than Hunter is Flair. That's a complement, in case you were wondering. Oh, and what's up with Cena's submission move? Camel Clutch? Ok. Angle lock? Got it. STFU? Exactly what part of the body does the STFU put enough pressure on to make one submit? Or is it just the way Cena oversells it? Whatever."

  • What's Left To Accomplish? - Well, it's not retiring, that's for sure.

Extras: The following extras are included:

  • Hog Pen Match - In Your House December 17, 1995 [Henry O. Godwinn vs. Hunter Hearst Helmsley] [14m 32s] - Guest refereed by Hillbilly Jim, this was a pretty funny match, which culminates with...well, just look at the screencap...


    HHH...facing some of his toughest opponents in a handicap match



  • First Professional Match - Burlington, VT November 1, 1992 [Terra Ryzing vs. Flying Tony Roy] (With Commentary by JR & Triple H) [13m 33s] - This was, for me, the most enjoyable match on the set. Not because the wrestling was superb (it wasn't) or the sound and picture were of the highest quality (it isn't). No, this was highly enjoyable because of the commentary by Triple H and JR. During the entire 13 minute match, they banter back and forth, with JR getting specifics out of Mr. Ryzing as they watch the match. It's a shame more of these WWE collections don't have an alternate track like this.

Video: With the exception of his first professional match, Triple H - the King Of Kings' picture was lives up to the WWE's usual standards. Sure, there is some slight pixelization due to pyro and whatnot, but that's to be expected. And with the exception of the interview footage (shot in 1.85:1 letterbox ration), it's presented in the normal WWE full frame 1.33:1 ratio.

Audio:
I had no issues with the Dolby Digital 5.1 track.

Conclusion:
Putting aside whatever gripes you may have with Triple H - he's "Mr. Stephanie McMahon" and uses it solely to his advantage, for a time there, Monday Night RAW should've been called "the Triple H Show" or that he seems to refuse to put over new talent, etc - the fact of the matter is, he gives everything he has when he's in the ring. From his "slobberknockers" with Flair, Foley and HBK to his ability to make a wrestler like Cena look good, it's clear that he cares about the industry and his place in it. If you have a problem with that, move along. For his fans, this is a no brainer -
Triple H: the King Of Kings - There Can Be Only One is a Highly Recommended collection.

Popular Reviews
1. Halloween: The Complete Collection - Limited Deluxe Edition
2. Transformers: Age of Extinction
3. Once Upon a Time in America: Extended Director's
4. Live, Die, Repeat: Edge of Tomorrow
5. Grace Kelly Collection (Dial M for Murder, To Catch a Thief, Magombo, The Country Girl, The Bridges of Toko-Ri, High Society)
6. Ghost in the Shell: 25th Anniversary Edition
7. Macbeth: The Criterion Collection (1971)
8. Here Comes Honey Boo Boo: A Very Boo Halloween
9. The Texas Chain Saw Massacre: 40th Anniversary Collector's Edition
10. Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1


Special Offers
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.
Special Offers
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Copyright 2014 DVDTalk.com All Rights Reserved. Legal Info, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use