DVD Talk
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
International DVDs
Theatrical
Adult
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
XCritic.com
DVD Stalk
DVD Savant
High-Def Revolution
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum
Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

DVDTalk Info
Review Staff
About DVD Talk
Advertise
Newsletter Subscribe
Join DVD Talk Forum
DVD Talk Feeds


Special Offer

Search: For:
Reviews » DVD Video Reviews » WWE: The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania (Wal-Mart Exclusive)
WWE: The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania (Wal-Mart Exclusive)
World Wrestling Entertainment // Unrated // March 25, 2008
List Price: $29.95 [Buy now and save at Walmart]
Review by Randy Miller III | posted May 12, 2008 | E-mail the Author
C O N T E N T
V I D E O
A U D I O
E X T R A S
R E P L A Y
A D V I C E
Recommended
E - M A I L
this review to a friend
P R I N T
Printer Friendly

Generic Pre-Review Wrestling Disclaimer: Long before my affinity for globetrotting documentaries, Martin Scorsese films and The Criterion Collection, I found a soft spot for professional wrestling. Don't ask me how this happened; it just did. Despite this declaration, I shower daily, all my teeth are accounted for, I have a college degree...and, most importantly, I have a wife with the same merits. I'm not alone, of course. The wrestling fans I know aren't slack-jawed yokels; they simply appreciate the spectacle and illusion that this genuine sport creates, in the same way movie lovers enjoy fast-paced fights and thrilling chase sequences. Long story short: we know this stuff is "fake", but we like it anyway. Give us a break.

My first real exposure to WWE, aside from the occasional match while channel-surfing, came in 1993 for reasons unknown. Like my belated addiction to The X-Files which began a few years later, perhaps I just saw the right episode at the right time. Years before WWE resorted to monthly pay-per-views, brand extensions and a virtual glut of weekly programming, I eagerly watched Monday Night Raw (one hour only, remember that?) for my weekly fix of scripted brawling and colorful characters. The occasional pay-per-view was ordered at our household after a few months of regular viewing---and before we knew it, Wrestlemania 10 was around the corner. It turned out to be quite a show, and not just in retrospect: WWE really knew how to pull out the stops every March or April when Wrestlemania returned, and they rarely disappointed. This is literally wrestling's World Series or Superbowl---and even though all 24 of these yearly events have been made available on DVD, only the most die-hard WWE fans own them all.

Up for review today is The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania, a two-disc set highlighting some of the biggest stars to shine during wrestling's most respected night. Truth be told, there's not a bad match on here...but we can all agree that any collection entitled The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania needs more than eleven of them. Only two matches are pulled from the first fourteen years of the event, while three are pulled from Wrestlemania XXII alone---and to exclude classic early matches for the benefit of a younger audience is simply a bad decision. All are preceded by mini-biographies of eleven WWE superstars (in this case, those whose names are listed first below), along with a short recap of the feud that resulted in the particular match at hand. Younger audiences who weren't around during the first Gulf conflict may not fully appreciate the over-the-top cheesiness of Sgt. Slaughter (Boo! Hiss!) vs. Hulk Hogan (USA! USA!), but their brawl is included here for history's sake. From top to bottom, here's what's included:

Complete Match Listing
(11 matches on 2 single-sided DVDs)

Disc One
Hulk Hogan vs. Sgt. Slaughter (WWE Championship Match) [Wrestlemania VII, 3/24/91]
Batista vs. Triple H (World Heavyweight Championship Match) [Wrestlemania XXI, 4/3/05]
Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho [Wrestlemania XIX, 3/30/03]
The Undertaker vs. Randy Orton [Wrestlemania XXI, 4/3/05]
Edge vs. Mick Foley (Hardcore Match) [Wrestlemania XXII, 4/2/06]

Disc Two
Bret "Hit Man" Hart vs. Yokozuna (WWE Championship Match) [Wrestlemania X, 3/20/94]
The Rock vs. "Hollywood" Hulk Hogan [Wrestlemania XVIII, 3/17/02]
John Cena vs. John Bradshaw Layfield (WWE Championship Match) [Wrestlemania XXI, 4/3/05]
Rey Mysterio vs. Kurt Angle vs. Randy Orton (World Heavyweight Championship Match) [Wrestlemania XXII, 4/2/06]
Triple H vs. Chris Jericho (Undisputed Championship Match) [Wrestlemania XVIII, 3/17/02]
"Stone Cold" Steve Austin vs. The Rock (WWE Championship Match) [Wrestlemania XV, 3/28/99]

With that said, the selection of several matches proves to be slightly confusing. Bret Hart's match against Yokozuna is significant enough, but why not include Bret's classic match with his late brother Owen (from the same night) instead? Why not Bret's epic submission match against Steve Austin three years later? Heck, why not the Ironman Match against Shawn Michaels? This is just the tip of the iceberg, along with a few rather odd superstar choices themselves. Why are Batista, Edge and Rey Mysterio included when folks like Randy Savage, Andre the Giant and Mr. Perfect are left off the list? There's certainly some great stuff on here, but The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania seems awfully skimpy to warrant such a lofty title.

But let's not focus too much on what this release could or should have been, let's take it for what it is: an entertaining and solid collection of top-level matches that fans will enjoy. Highlights include The Rock vs. "Hollywood" Hulk Hogan (featuring the most electrified crowd of all time), Edge vs. Mick Foley (a bloody brawl initiated by an interesting feud), Shawn Michaels vs. Chris Jericho (an epic contest between two top competitors, followed by a deliciously downbeat ending) and "Stone Cold" Steve Austin vs. The Rock (because, well, those two hardly ever disappoint). Overall, the highs are high and the lows aren't too low...so even though this appetizer of a release could've been the main course, it's still worth chewing on.

On the technical side of things, this two-disc set is on par with recent WWE releases: production values are solid, the full matches are included and that damn WWF "scratch" logo is still blurred from existence. Glaring issues aside, most wrestling fans should find this collection worth the price of admission---but since this appears to be a Wal-Mart exclusive (as emphasized by a large sticker on the cover), purchasing it may involve setting foot inside a Wal-Mart. If you're up to the challenge, The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania should prove to be a relatively satisfying purchase. Let's take a closer look, shall we?

Quality Control Department

Video & Audio Quality

Presented in its original 1.33:1 aspect ratio, The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania is easily on par with the most recent crop of WWE DVD releases. Colors are generally bold and bright, while black levels are typically solid. Mild pixellation and artifacts can be seen during certain pyrotechnic sequences, but these are generally kept to a minimum. Overall, fans should know what to expect here.

The audio is presented in a fairly standard Dolby Surround mix; likewise, it's roughly on par with recent WWE releases. Crowd noise and play-by-play commentary come through loud and clear, creating a satisfying soundstage overall. Optional subtitles, Spanish commentary or Closed Captions are not offered, unfortunately.

Menu Design, Presentation & Packaging

Seen above, the plain-wrap menu designs are basic and easy to navigate. The five-hour main feature has been divided into 22 chapters (one per match and one per mini-bio), while no obvious layer changes were detected during playback. This two-disc release is housed in a hinged black keepcase and includes a handy chapter insert and several promotional one-sheets.

Bonus Features

Due to the presentation style of this two-disc release, no proper bonus features have been included. With that said, the five-hour running time ensures that there's plenty to dig through...so it's no big loss, really.

Final Thoughts

This two-disc, five-hour collection is chock full of wrestling action...yet The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania can't help but fall short of its ambitious title. Those looking for a complete and balanced look at the industry's most respected event will undoubtedly feel a bit disappointed, but what's here is still entertaining in its own right. WWE's technical presentation is roughly on par with recent compilations, while the lack of bonus features is hardly disappointing, given the circumstances. Overall, this Wal-Mart exclusive collection won't exactly be the crown jewel in your WWE collection...but it's still worth the price of admission, and that's all that really matters. Recommended.


Randy Miller III is an affable office monkey based in Harrisburg, PA. He also does freelance graphic design projects and works in a local gallery. When he's not doing that, he enjoys slacking off, second-guessing himself and writing things in third person.
Find the lowest price for 'WWE: The Greatest Superstars of Wrestlemania (Wal-Mart Exclusive)'
Popular Reviews
1. Criminal Minds: Season 9
2. Batman The Complete TV Series Limited Edition Blu-ray
3. The Expendables 3
4. L'avventura: Criterion Collection
5. It Happened One Night - The Criterion Collection
6. Sgt. Bilko - The Phil Silvers Show: The Complete Series
7. The Shooting / Ride in the Whirlwind: Criterion Collection
8. Corky (Warner Archive Collection)
9. 22 Jump Street
10. The Jeffersons - The Complete Series: The Dee-Luxe Edition


Special Offers
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.
Special Offers
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Copyright 2014 DVDTalk.com All Rights Reserved. Legal Info, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use