DVD Talk
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
International DVDs
Theatrical
Adult
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
XCritic.com
DVD Stalk
DVD Savant
High-Def Revolution
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum
Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

DVDTalk Info
Review Staff
About DVD Talk
Advertise
Newsletter Subscribe
Join DVD Talk Forum
DVD Talk Feeds


Special Offer

Search: For:
Reviews » DVD Video Reviews » Californication: The Complete Second Season
Californication: The Complete Second Season
Showtime // Unrated // August 25, 2009
List Price: $42.99 [Buy now and save at Amazon]
Review by Cameron McGaughy | posted October 1, 2009 | E-mail the Author
Buy from Amazon.com
C O N T E N T
V I D E O
A U D I O
E X T R A S
R E P L A Y
A D V I C E
Rent It
E - M A I L
this review to a friend
P R I N T
Printer Friendly
"That's the secret: You find your fucking niche and you stick to it!
I wax hairy tacos, maybe I bleach an asshole or two...that's my thing. One wrong move, you end up the ass licker.
Words to live by."

- Marcie

The Series
Oh, I'm sorry...did I offend you? Too bad...the quote perfectly encapsulates the show, so I really didn't have any choice (consider yourself lucky--that was one of the tamer selections). Besides, you should know better. If you click on a review for Californication Season 2, you should be somewhat familiar with Californication Season 1--and therefore know you're in for a filthy ride that doesn't have time for easily offended lightweights (warning: NC-17 material to follow; leave now or forever hold your disgust). So if you haven't yet closed your browser and I still have your attention, here's another taste of the kind of stuff you can expect:

Hank: "I know...I smell like [female genitalia word #1]. I'm sorry, Karen...I'm very sorry. That was an honest mistake!"
Karen: "Oh, you just had your mouth on another woman's [female genitalia word #2]?"
Hank: "Yes, I did. But the moment my tongue hit [female genitalia word #3], I knew it wasn't yours...it wasn't perfect! I could pick your [female genitalia word #1] out of a police lineup!"

Still with me? Don't worry...after a while, you'll just become desensitized to it all. But sadly for the series, there isn't much left after all the dirty talk is done. I'm not exactly sure what happened since I reviewed the first season a year ago (although even then, I remember thinking that my 3.5-star rating was perhaps a tad generous). Maybe I'm more mature now? Nah, that can't be it...I'm probably just slightly more critical and not as easily amused. Whatever the case, the honeymoon is over--I just didn't have as much fun during the sophomore campaign of this Showtime hit, which appropriately begins and ends to the tune of "California Dreamin'".

It doesn't help that not much seems to actually happen this season--the 12 episodes whiz by without much character or story development, even less than last season (which in itself was stretched). I was so turned off by the silly conclusion to Season 1, I thought for sure it would turn out to be a dream sequence, but I was wrong (Karen's former fiancé Bill is now history). Here's the crux of Season 2: writer/sex addict Hank Moody (David Duchovny)--still moaning about being stuck in California--continues to fall in and out of a relationship with Karen (Natascha McElhone). She also wouldn't mind moving back to New York with their stone-faced daughter Becca (Madeleine Martin), a true "child of the damned".

While in jail for being an ass, Hank meets famed record producer Lew Ashby (Callum Keith Rennie), who hires Hank to write his biography--leading him to find Lew's ex Janie (Madchen Amick) in search of substance. Hank's life is also complicated by the presence of Season 1 conquest Sonja (Paula Marshall), along with a few other notches on his bedpost. Meanwhile, Hank's agent Charlie (Evan Handler) falls for Daisy (Carla Gallo)--a porn starlet with a heart of gold!--while wife Marcy (Pamela Adlon) snorts cocaine. Seeing very limited (and virtually negligible) screen time this season are Bill's daughter Mia (Madeline Zima), the Lolita who slept with Hank and stole his novel (a revelation Karen has yet to make, a storyline I'm sure that will rear its ugly head in the future), and Charlie's assistant-turned-agent Dani (Rachel Miner)--who gets Charlie fired this for his chronic masturbation problem.

The biggest battle Californication faces is balancing its ribald nature with some form of sincerity...it can't. The show is all about trying to make you gasp and giggle with juvenile humor, and Season 2 doesn't have any substantive storylines--it's just repeated patterns of behavior (sex, drugs, rock and roll) strung together with wafer-thin plot developments. The situations are dictated by the show's prurient agenda, with logic, common sense and decency thrown out the window. An absurd dinner party bringing together a bunch of self-absorbed misfits in Episode 4 is the prime example: No one behaves or reacts in a believable way, further magnifying one of the show's huge weaknesses--you just don't care about any of these people. They're all caricatures vying for your attention by shouting louder than each other, a bunch of kids behaving badly.

That would be fine if the show was witty enough to back up the dirty humor, but it isn't. While watching Season 2, I kept scribbling the same comment in my notes: "Just watch porn..." The recurring porn starlet storyline (Vaginatown, anyone?) is another example of the show stretching a thin premise too wide, going for too easy jokes that magnify the show's (and characters') shallowness:

Charlie: "Daisy, I can't thank you enough for filling in like this."
Daisy: "Aw, no problem. It's fun!"
Charlie: "Fun?! Rescheduling all Marcy's appointments, dealing with angry clients?"
Daisy: "Hey, it's a lot easier than getting cumshot in your eye and pretending to like it!"

Really?! Is this the best you've got? Hmm, let's sample another naughty nugget and find out:

Dani: "Maybe it's time to think about doing something different with your skill set...what about producing?"
Charlie: "The only thing I'd like to produce right now is a fist up your ass!"

Sigh...if you're going to shun character development and go for vulgarity, at least make it original (Need more evidence? We also get a zinger advising Hank to be mindful of his soap while in prison, and a "carpet matching the drapes" quip). At least the jokesters can make you laugh--I can't say the same for Karen, perhaps the show's most infuriating character. She pretends to be turned off by all of Hank's shenanigans, but it's a façade--deep down she's amused (almost encouraging) of his behavior, making her the least likable character (boys will be boys, right Karen?). The couple's conflict with the police at the end of Episode 1--and Karen's repeated attempts to "teach Hank a lesson"--are prime examples of her co-dependent nature, and make her come across like the most phony character.

The relationships here aren't anchored in reality, and I have a hard time buying that most of these people actually care about each other. The childish behavior of the arrested-development adults (including some really bad parenting) further illustrates the show's intent: To grab your attention with flesh and flash. Look! Sheri Moon Zombie says "Great lookin' cock!"! And there's Justine Bateman! She doesn't shave her body hair and is on her period! And isn't that Pete Wentz?! Oooh, and what about the nympho celebrity chef who screams "Make me your bitch! Fuck me like I'm Al-Qaeda!" How risqué!

Virtually everyone here (save for Becca and Janie) is selfish to some degree, and after a while it gets exhausting--at what point does Californication want us to take it seriously? I almost wish the show shunned any pretense at drama and went full force with its dark and dirty side (something It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia does beautifully). You'll have zero rooting interest in Hank and Karen or Charlie and Marcie--they argue, they shout, they snort, they sex. Like Marcie (aka Cokey Smurf), it all becomes loud and obnoxious.

It's impossible to accept Californication as anything but filthy fun, which means its few attempts at honest emotion (like Becca's plea to daddy in Episode 7) fall flat. The show tries to have it both ways, but it's mostly too little, too late as it drowns in its own excess. There are only so many meaningless hookups and coke snorts (virtually all of it played for laughs) that you can take before you write off the show as a cartoon (and Duchovny's real-life battle with addiction makes much of the material even harder to laugh at).

Even then, it's not fresh enough to maintain your interest--it's just average. Californication relies a lot on attitude and swagger, with "cute" catchphrases peppering the script. It's like an R-rated Seinfeld, but with "close talker", "anti-dentite", "man hands" and "sponge worthy" replaced with "mouth rape", "accidental oralist", "birth orgasm" and "stunt cock"--jokes that are repeated far too much, wasting valuable script space with recycled material (the references to Hank's balls after a vasectomy are one of many overkill examples). It also revels in the "returning guest character" too much, like the mere appearance of a Season 1 conquest is enough to entertain us (I love Judy Greer, but not here).

All is not lost, and the season's final third is stronger than the rest--but the bright spots are fleeting. The season wastes most of a great opportunity--exploring the odd friendship between Hank and Ashby--but finally offers some sweet moments toward the end of the season, while Episode 9 (my favorite) takes a more sincere look at some of the couplings. Episode 10, which flashes back to a crucial period in Hank and Karen's life, aims for depth but is ultimately a little too repetitive, while Becca's relationship with new boyfriend Damien (Ezra Miller) is empty. And the season ender feels like a tacked-on prelude for Season 3 (Episode 11 would have been far more effective as the finale). I also wish we got to see more of Amick, whose Janie is underused after a hint of something special.

And yes, some of the lowbrow humor works--I'd be lying if I didn't admit to a few chuckles along the way. But there's just so much of it that it loses most of its impact. The show can certainly be enjoyable--if you're in the right frame of mind, it's probably hysterical. I am not a regular Entourage watcher, but have seen previous episodes--some of them made me laugh, but most of them made me angry and annoyed (I could say the same of Sex and the City). Californication is more concerned with the easy laughs than well-earned respect and meaningful characters, something I just couldn't overlook this time. Regardless of what tone a show runs with, all you can hope for is that it matures--and Hank and company still have a lot of growing up to do.

Episode Guide
The 16 episodes from Season 2 are presented on 4 discs; all run about 42 minutes.

1. Slip of the Tongue (aired 9/28/08) Hank and Karen decide to pack up and head to New York. As part of the reconciliation, Hank undergoes a vasectomy. Later, after a party at the home of record producer Lew Ashby, Hank runs into trouble.
2. The Great Ashby (aired 10/5/08) Hank finds himself in jail after assaulting a mouthy police officer, and Karen refuses to bail him out. Hank is reintroduced to Ashby, who propose that Hank wrote his long-awaited biography.
3. No Way to Treat a Lady (aired 10/12/08) Hank is reintroduced to Trixie, the hooker with a heart of gold, who stirs up trouble. Meanwhile, Charlie spots one of Marcy's clients, porn actress Daisy.
4. The Raw & the Cooked (aired 10-19-08) Hank and Karen throw a dinner party that turns into a night of surprises.

5. Vaginatown (aired 10/26/08) After getting dumped by Karen, Hank moves in to Ashby's mansion. Ashby tries to distract Hank form the heartbreak with a celebrity chef. Meanwhile, Charlie takes on a new client, who's eager to land the lead in an ambitious new porn film.
6. Coke Dick & the First Kick (aired 11/2/08) Hakn decides to seek out Ashby's long-lost love; Mia befriends Ashby; Charlie steps in when a location shoot falls through.
7. In a Lonely Place (aired 11/9/08) Hank and Karen attend a parent-teacher conference at Becca's high school, where Hank hits it off with his daughter's teacher; Marcy makes a confession to Charlie.
8. Going Down and Out in Beverly Hills (aired 11/16/08) Hank spends the day at the home of Janie Jones; Karen learns that Mia is having an affair with Ashby; Charlie sends Marcy to detox.

9. La Ronde (aired 11/23/08) Hank meets Janie for a date, while Karen goes on an impromptu date (of sorts) with Ashby.
10. In Utero (aired 11/30/09) Hank reflects on his relationship with Karen, and we flash back to the beginning of their stormy union. Meanwhile, Daisy tells Charlie she's moving out.
11. Blues from Laurel Canyon (aired 12/7/08) To celebrate the release of Mia's book, Ashby host's a soiree at the manor, where craziness insues. Fresh from rehab, Marcy tries to avoid the powerded temptation around her.
12. La Petite Mort (aired 12/14/08) Hank completes his latest work, Mia departs on a tour, a baby is born, Charlie gets a new job and Karen makes a decision.

The DVD

Video:
The anamorphic 1.78:1 transfer is solid, and opts for mostly warm, darker tones. Detail and texture is impressive (especially in close-ups), while some grain fills out backdrops in other shots.

Audio:
You can choose between 5.1 and 2.0 English options as well as a Spanish mono track. I opted for the 5.1, which was mostly decent. No major sound effects will blow you away, but small details like traffic noise creep up on you. Dialogue is solid, although it seemed a tad low and out of balance with the louder background noise in some scenes. English captions for the hearing impaired are available.

Extras:
A collection of interviews (19:06, non-anamorphic video) with the cast are a big disappointment--they look like Showtime website promos that barely even scratch the surface. Quick clips with David Duchnovy, Madeline Zima, Natascha McElhone, Pamela Adlon and Evan Handler don't offer much more than generic plot and character musings (and I disagree with McElhone's assertion that the dinner party scene is "great").

Pamela Adlon takes center stage in the other two offerings, where she channels Lisa Lampanelli: an audio commentary on Episode 6 ("Coke Dick & The First Kick"), an odd listen full of silence (lots of silence!), outbursts ("I hate that painting!"/"I love that house!"), laughing, obvious observations ("That was his face feeling sick!", random facts (fake cocaine is powered sugar and powdered milk) and filth ("She had a tiny Band-Aid on her vajonesia!"/"Look at my tits!"). Adlon has a charm, but you're probably more likely to be annoyed than entertained (enough of the "Look at my nails!" and "My hair looks good!"). She should have been paired with someone else for the track--on her own, it just doesn't work. Her parting words: "Yea! Bye! I love you! Thank you for listening to my diarrhea! Have fun! Go jerk off!"

Adlon returns in Marcie's Waxing Salon (2:53), another oddity where the actress takes a tour of Pink Cheeks Salon (which is her Hot Lips salon in the show) with expert waxer Cindy: "This girl is a porn star and she's working tomorrow...we have to make sure that we do it fast and quick cause she wants a tighty whitie, not a pinky inky. So we're gonna do in the butt." Cue blurred footage of the two women waxing a variety of clientele (your guess is as good as mine). Cast bios, a photo gallery, trailers and free episodes of other Showtime shows (available via your PC) are also included. Sadly, no gag reel to be found.

Also, I'd avoid reading the episode summaries on the menu--they reveal far too much (the printed episode guide in the disc sleeve is slightly less spoilertastic).

Final Thoughts:
The party continues in Season 2 of Showtime's filthy hit, and if you're in the right frame of mind this is a dirty good time full of sex, drugs and rock and roll. But the hangover is starting to set in, and the excessive lowbrow humor--full of easy sight gags and foul-mouthed dialogue--isn't quite as amusing this time around. Californication has some growing up to do--it needs to find a way to make you care about these selfish characters and present stories that maintain sincerity for more than a minute. Until then, the cheap humor can only take the show so far, leaving you with nothing but its shallow, sex-obsessed surface. Rent It.

Popular Reviews
1. Captain America: The Winter Soldier
2. Lolly-Madonna XXX (Warner Archive Collection)
3. South Park: Season 17
4. Young Frankenstein: 40th Anniversary
5. Flesh + Blood
6. Spartacus: The Complete Series
7. Godzilla (2014)
8. Live Nude Girls
9. The Rover
10. The Dead 2


Special Offers
DVD Blowouts
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
Alien [Blu-ray]
Buy: $19.99 $9.99
8.
9.
10.
Special Offers
Release List Reviews Shop Newsletter Forum DVD Giveaways Blu-Ray Advertise
Copyright 2014 DVDTalk.com All Rights Reserved. Legal Info, Privacy Policy, Terms of Use