Reviews & Columns
Reviews
DVD
TV on DVD
Blu-ray
4K UHD
International DVDs
In Theaters
Reviews by Studio
Video Games

Features
Collector Series DVDs
Easter Egg Database
Interviews
DVD Talk Radio
Feature Articles

Columns
Anime Talk
DVD Savant
Horror DVDs
The M.O.D. Squad
Art House
HD Talk
Silent DVD

discussion forum
DVD Talk Forum

Resources
DVD Price Search
Customer Service #'s
RCE Info
Links

Columns




NHL: Philadelphia Flyers Greatest Games Set

Warner Bros. // Unrated // December 5, 2006
List Price: $49.98 [Buy now and save at Amazon]

Review by Scott Weinberg | posted December 27, 2006 | E-mail the Author
The Games

Philadelphia's pretty well-known as a town that loves its sports teams. Those fans are also known to be pretty raving, rabid and raucous on occasion, but hey, who goes to a football game and pretends it's a ballet? Growing up the son on a Philadelphia firefighter, my youth was fairly coated with a non-stop deluge of Phillies, Flyers, 76ers and Flyers. I grew up to focus more on the football/baseball side of the equation, but for most Philadelphia sports families, the Flyers are like a religion. Seriously.

So it was with much enthusiasm that I sat down with WB's new Philadelphia Flyers: 10 Greatest Games collection, a 10-disc set that'll bring a tear to the eye of any old-school Orange & Black fan. No frills, no extras, just one classic hockey game per disc. Here's what we get:

05/09/74 - Bobby Clarke scores an overtime goal to win a playoff game in Boston. (Flyers at Bruins Stanley Cup Final game 2)

05/19/74 - The Flyers beat Boston and win the Stanley Cup! (Flyers vs Bruins Stanley Cup Final game 6)

05/27/75 - The Flyers beat Buffalo and win their second consecutive Cup! (Flyers vs Sabres Stanley Cup Final game 6)

01/11/76 - The Flyers beat the Soviet Red Army team!

12/22/79 - The Flyers set a new record for longest undefeated streak (29 games) by winning a game in, yep, Boston!

04/13/85 - Cherry-picker extraordinaire Tim Kerr nets FOUR goals in one period of a Flyers/Rangers playoff game! (Flyers at Rangers, Division Semifinals game 3)

05/28/87 - Defenseman J.J. Daigneault scores the game-winning goal in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Finals. Too bad Edmonton came back in Game 7.

05/04/00 - The Flyers win a monster of a game when Keith Primeau scores in the 5th overtime period against the Penguins! (Flyers at Penguins Eastern Conference Semifinals game 4)

05/04/04 - Jeremy Roenick wins a playoff game and a series by scoring in overtime vs. the Maple Leafs. (Flyers at Leafs Eastern Conference Semifinals game 6)

05/20/04 - Keith Primeau & Simon Gagne beat up on the Tampa Bay Lightning in a playoff game. (Flyers vs Lightning Eastern Conference Finals game 6)

And that's it! No need for retrospective interviews, sports-chatty commentary, or gushing little featurettes. This is one of the best, toughest and old-schooliest NHL teams under the sun, and I cannot imagine the hardcore Flyers fan who wouldn't love to add this set to his/her collection. How much "re-playability" the games have will depend entirely on how hardcore of a fan you are, but it's also cool to just have the set sitting on your shelf -- just in case you need a little shot of ice hockey nostalgia.

The DVD

Video/Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround, which is darn solid. The games are presented in their original full-frame format, and obviously some of the older broadcasts are showing their age, but you'll have no problem enjoying the matches.

Extras -- Nada.

Final Thoughts

I know a few Flyers fans who'd roll right through all ten games and then come back for seconds a few weeks later. Me, I'm waiting for the Eagles 10 Best Games DVD package. Or the Phillies.

Buy from Amazon.com

C O N T E N T

V I D E O

A U D I O

E X T R A S

R E P L A Y

A D V I C E
Recommended

E - M A I L
this review to a friend
Popular Reviews
1. A Dangerous Man
2. A Fistful of Dollars (4KUHD)
3. Love Jones: Criterion Collection
4. The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance (Paramount Presents)


Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links